Aguilar Film Festival is one of the most historic and renowned short film festivals in Spain. It began in 1988, being one of the first Spanish film festivals dedicated exclusively to short films.

Throughout these years, many generations of Spanish and international filmmakers have passed through Aguilar Film Festival, as well as a large group of guests. From this position we have witnessed the emergence of young filmmakers who have managed to consolidate a solid and successful career.

In recent years, Aguilar Film Festival has strengthened its international dimension, expanding the offer of international contents, as well as the presence of outstanding professionals from different parts of the world.

The festival is divided into different competitive sections, which offer a wide panorama of current short films in their broadest sense, always looking for powerful and exciting stories, imaginative and surprising narratives, personal and singular looks, and unexpected aesthetic solutions. The editorial line of the festival is diverse and heterogeneous, seeking to create spaces for all kinds of audiences, of all ages and from all walks of life, with an important focus on contemporary and social issues.

The Official Selection is the competition where the eclecticism of the festival is most clearly reflected, with very plural proposals, which address the challenges of the current cinematographic art from the most diverse approaches.

De Campo is the second international competition of the Aguilar Film Festival, and it brings together works centred on the rural environment in a very broad sense of the term. It is a section that vindicates the periphery and the rural environment as a place that is no stranger to modernity, where all kinds of stories take place, inhabited by people from all walks of life. These works also provide an ethnographic view of the territory, reflecting on the dichotomies between countryside/city, modernity/tradition, past/present/future. De Campo symbolises the festival's commitment to its territory through a collection of films that fundamentally talk about identity, roots, sustainability and dream of a better world.

The other competitions of the festival are MiniAguilar (international competition of works for new audiences, with categories for over 3 years old, over 7 years old and AulaFF -for secondary school students; Ríete tú, a short selection of comedy shorts and Castilla y León, a broad competition that brings together the most outstanding short film production of the Community of Castilla y León, which also gives the festival the character of a meeting point for the whole sector of the region.

Aguilar Film Festival is completed with other out-of-competition sections, including those organised in collaboration with other festivals and institutions, such as Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival, Festival Internacional de Cine de Gijón/ FICX, British Council, Bogoshorts. Bogota International Short Film Festival... These sections include special programmes, cycles, retrospectives, spotlights...

In parallel, Aguilar Film Festival organises the Aguilar Industry Hall, a space for debate, reflection, learning and meeting open to professionals and also to the general public. Every year this programme includes workshops, masterclasses, meetings, round tables and all kinds of informative, educational and informative activities to strengthen the short film industry at all levels.

In addition to the awards to the short films distinguished by the different juries of the festival, every year Aguilar Film Festival awards several Golden Eagles, which recognise the professional and artistic careers of great film personalities, and also serve as a boost to new talents. Among the long list of winners of the Golden Eagles are Pedro Almodóvar, Javier Fesser, Eugène Green, the Bardem family, Gracia Querejeta, Vincent Macaigne, Javier Gutiérrez, Natalia Mateo, María Barranco, Ernesto Alterio, Malena Alterio, Inés París, Álex Angulo, Petra Martínez, Santiago Segura, Antonia Sanjuán, Álex de la Iglesia, Carmelo Gómez, Concha Velasco, Maribel Verdú, María Barranco and many others.